August 3, 2009

The following are the minutes of the Brewster Golf Commission special meeting held on August 3, 2009. The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m.

Commissioners present: Bob Weiss Cindy Bingham Jo O'Connell Stote Ellsworth Karney Ovian Jeff Odell Rob Harris Joe Shaw, Commissioner Emeritus

Staff present: Mark O'Brien, Director of Operations

Others present: Ray Gomez, Nancy Segall, and Orin Segall

In the absence of a Chairman, Joe Shaw, Commissioner Emeritus and previous Vice Chairman called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

J. Shaw turned the floor over to S. Ellsworth to introduce a slate of officers presented by the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee consists of J. Shaw, S. Ellsworth, and J. O'Connell. The Committee proposed Bob Weiss for Chairman and Rob Harris as Vice Chairman. No other nominations were forthcoming from the Commission. J. O'Connell made a motion, seconded by C. Bingham to approve the nominations. Discussion followed. The motion was approved 6 in favor and C. Bingham abstaining. C. Bingham abstained voicing concerns over the process of the formation of the Nominating Committee. B. Weiss explained the process, which was complicated by the fact that the Commission was without a Chairman, and in which Charlie Sumner was involved, but understood C. Bingham's concerns.

B. Weiss turned the floor over to R. Harris to explain the proposal for half price AFP fees for the remainder of the AFP year, which expires March 31, 2010. Although it is felt that some monetary gain will be realized, the main reason for the proposal is to get some of our AFPs that have not renewed for financial reasons back in the door, which will give us a better chance of retaining them in 2010. Concern was expressed regarding AFPs that have renewed recently (there have been 5 renewals since July 21st) and also 10-Play Card holders that still have plays left on their cards. M. O'Brien noted that there were only eleven 10-Play Card Holders that gave a Brewster address. J. O'Connell made a motion, seconded by C. Bingham, to approve a $350 Brewster Resident AFP fee to be valid through March 31, 2010. This AFP status would have the privileges as current AFPs. Anyone that paid their Brewster Resident AFP fee on or after July 21, 2009 would be entitled to a $350 refund. Discussion followed. J. Odell made a motion, seconded by J. O'Connell, to amend this motion to allow 10-Play Card Holders to redeem the unused portion of their cards toward the discounted AFP fee at a rate of $35 per unused round. The motion was approved 6 in favor, the chair does not vote.

The above proposal will be presented to the Selectmen tonight for their approval.

C. Bingham made a motion, seconded by J. O'Connell to adjourn the meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 2:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Mark O'Brien Director of Operations

The Pro Shop is closed to the public until further notice. Face coverings must be worn at all times on the Captains Golf Course property. 18-Hole riding carts are restricted to those with a 12:00 tee time or earlier and 9-Hole riding carts are restricted to those with a 1:57 tee time or earlier. The driving range is closed until further notice and the Freemans Grill is closed for the season. RENTAL CLUBS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. Non-Member tee times may be reserved up to two days in advance. Reservations are required for all play - WALK-ONS ARE NOT PERMITTED.